December 17, 2012

  • The Everlasting Heartbreak of the Newtown Shootings

       I'm supposed to be working on an essay right now. However, I can't seem to think straight. About an hour ago, I sent my son - who turns six tomorrow - to Kindergarten for the first time since the terrible events of this past Friday. I just can't stop thinking about that day and what the parents, children, and others directly affected thereby have had to endure since.

     

       What if it was my son, daughter, one of my nieces or nephews, or even of the children of my extended family? Sadness and anger have been dominating my thoughts since Friday, and I see no end in sight. Not too long ago, I composed an entry wherein I remarked that the power of wedge issues - like guns - is waning. Well, if the senseless murder of 20 young children - and seven adults - by a maniac wielding two handguns and a semi-automatic rifle doesn't put to rest the stupid and blind defense of our near-limitless access to deadly weapons, then we sincerely must reassess the claim that we are somehow the "greatest nation of Earth".

     

       Something has to be done, and I have plenty to say pertinent to this issue. Soon, during my break from school, I will compose an extensive entry wherein I will discuss this issue at length.

     

    TAKE CARE